top of page

BOXARR joins the Royal Aeronautical Society

Updated: Jan 26, 2023

BOXARR is honoured to have been inducted as a member of the Royal Aeronautical Society.

As the world’s only professional body dedicated to the aerospace community, the Royal Aeronautical Society exists to further the advancement of aeronautical art, science, and engineering around the world.

Established in 1866, the Society has been at the forefront of developments in aerospace, seeking to promote the highest professional standards and provide a central forum for sharing knowledge.

The Royal Aeronautical Society (RAeS) was founded in 1866 and was originally known as The Aeronautical Society of Great Britain.

The first and founding members were His Grace The Duke of Argyll, Mr. James Glaisher, Dr. Hugh W. Diamond, Mr. F.H. Wenham, Mr. James Wm. Butler, and Mr. F.W. Brearey.

The objectives of the society were given as “for the advancement of Aerial Navigation and for Observations in Aerology connected therewith”.

In 2016, the Society celebrated its 150th anniversary and members took the opportunity to celebrate achievement and excellence within the aeronautics community, and to look ahead to the next 50 years of innovation in aerospace.

The Society now has over 22,500 members and has become an international, multidisciplinary professional institution dedicated to the global aerospace community.

BOXARR Chairman, Sir Colin Terry, is a former president of the RAS.


bottom of page